The Love Punch: A Swing and a Miss

The Love PunchIn THE LOVE PUNCH, divorced couple Richard (Pierce Brosnan) and Kate (Emma Thompson) discover that a corrupt businessman has bought out their business and run it into the ground. Now bankrupt, the pair embark on a trip to the South of France to steal a priceless, multimillion dollar jewel that the businessman has given to his supermodel girlfriend for their wedding. 

As you might expect from the premise, THE LOVE PUNCH is as much about the rekindling of the relationship between Richard and Kate as it is about the heist itself. Pierce Brosnan is a safe bet when casting a romantic comedy, bringing irresistible charm to every line. Likewise, Emma Thompson is an actress for whom I have a great deal of respect as both a leading lady and as a supporting actress due to her poise and pedigree. In spite of the film’s underwhelming script, the two are perfectly paired in this film, displaying a natural chemistry that makes the inevitable and obvious ‘will they / won’t they’ plot more endearing than I was expecting.

The film runs on rapid fire comedy that is as much miss as it is hit. A few of the gags connect, particularly those that are self-aware of the absurdity of an older couple planning a caper. More often, though, the jokes fall flat. Thompson, Brosnan, and supporting cast members Celia Imrie and Timothy Spall do their best to bring life and energy to the comedic beats, but the frenetic pace of the script opts for quantity over quality.

The details of the heist itself are mostly forgettable; the circumstances are contrived and the antagonists are over the top caricatures. In some films, this would be damning, but here, the caper is so secondary to the romantic themes that it almost doesn’t matter. THE LOVE PUNCH caters to a very specific, very niche audience. As a rom com for a more mature couple’s date night, you could do much worse. Otherwise, THE LOVE PUNCH would be more suitable as a lazy Sunday afternoon film than as a theatrical outing.

THE LOVE PUNCH opens in limited markets, including Phoenix, on May 23, 2014.

2 / 5

 

William Lindus
williamlindus@moviebears.com
thelinduslist.jux.com
thelinduslist.com
moviebearspodcast.com
#moviebears

, , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by how to get rid of anxiety cramps on May 26, 2014 - 1:33 pm

    Howdy, I do believe your site could be having internet browser compatibility
    problems. When I look at your blog in Safari, it looks fine however, when opening
    in I.E., it’s got some overlapping issues. I simply wanted to provide
    you with a quick heads up! Other than that, excellent blog!

  2. #2 by Ginger on May 27, 2014 - 2:23 pm

    I’m excited to discover this page. I wanted to thank you for your time just for this fantastic
    read!! I definitely enjoyed every part of it and i also have you
    book marked to check out new information in your site.

  3. #3 by cost to move to hawaii on May 28, 2014 - 3:48 pm

    I am really glad to read this website posts
    which consists of tons of helpful data, thanks
    for providing such information.

  4. #4 by tricycles for kids on May 29, 2014 - 8:57 am

    I really like what you guys tend to be up too.
    This sort of clever work and exposure! Keep up the good works guys I’ve you guys to blogroll.

  5. #5 by Janell on July 4, 2014 - 4:33 am

    It’s going to be finish of mine day, but before finish I am
    reading this great post to improve my knowledge.

  6. #6 by Clay on July 9, 2014 - 7:11 am

    Hello, Neat post. There is a problem together with your web site
    in internet explorer, might check this? IE nonetheless is the market
    leader and a big section of other people will miss your magnificent writing due to this problem.

  7. #7 by Aimee on July 22, 2014 - 2:36 pm

    Having read this I thought it was very enlightening. I appreciate you taking the
    time and effort to put this information together.
    I once again find myself personally spending way too much
    time both reading and leaving comments. But so what, it was still worthwhile!

  8. #8 by big wheels for toddlers on July 23, 2014 - 3:36 pm

    Hey I know this is off topic but I was wondering if you knew of any widgets I could add to my blog that automatically tweet
    my newest twitter updates. I’ve been looking for a plug-in like
    this for quite some time and was hoping maybe you would have some experience with something like this.
    Please let me know if you run into anything. I truly enjoy reading your
    blog and I look forward to your new updates.

  9. #9 by Brenda on July 24, 2014 - 4:07 pm

    If you want to obtain a great deal from this article then you have to apply these techniques to your
    won blog.

  10. #10 by Miguel on July 25, 2014 - 12:36 pm

    Wow, that’s what I was looking for, what a material!
    present here at this blog, thanks admin of this site.

  11. #11 by Anastasia on July 28, 2014 - 9:58 pm

    This article is genuinely a good one it helps new net users, who
    are wishing for blogging.

  12. #12 by move to hawaii oahu on August 11, 2014 - 3:15 am

    Wow that was odd. I just wrote an incredibly long comment but after
    I clicked submit my comment didn’t show up.
    Grrrr… well I’m not writing all that over again. Anyway, just wanted
    to say great blog!

  13. #13 by Loren on August 25, 2014 - 12:49 pm

    Heya i’m for the first time here. I came across this board and I to find It
    truly useful & it helped me out a lot. I hope to present one thing back and help others like you aided me.

  14. #14 by Major on September 3, 2014 - 2:06 am

    I like the valuable info you provide in your articles. I will bookmark your weblog
    and check again here regularly. I am quite certain I’ll learn a lot of new stuff right here!
    Best of luck for the next!

  15. #15 by national pinball museum on September 5, 2014 - 12:23 am

    Do you have a spam problem on this site; I also am a blogger, and I
    was wanting to know your situation; we have created some nice procedures and we are looking
    to swap solutions with other folks, why not shoot me an e-mail if interested.

  16. #16 by Reviews on Respark The Romance on September 13, 2014 - 7:55 am

    I am a plugin developer for wordpress. I actually have designed a
    plugin that is able to take web browsers emails on your database without having
    to use their communication. I am just in need of beta test candidates also, since you may be receiving sizeable sums
    of web traffic, I was keen on both you and your web site.
    Are you feeling intrigued?

  17. #17 by Charlene on September 17, 2014 - 1:36 pm

    When I initially commented I clicked the “Notify me when new comments are added” checkbox and now each time a comment is
    added I get several emails with the same comment.
    Is there any way you can remove me from that service? Appreciate it!

  18. #18 by Manie on September 18, 2014 - 1:01 pm

    Hi, for all time i used to check web site posts here early in the dawn, as i love to find out more and more.

Leave a Reply

